AIMES is guided by a Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) that functions in a participatory role. Integration across scientific disciplines is key to the AIMES philosophy and the composition of the AIMES SSC necessarily includes both natural and social scientists. The SSC is responsible for providing scientific guidance and overseeing the development, planning and implementation of the AIMES project. The terms of reference can be found here.

Victor Brovkin, AIMES co-chair
Max-Planck Institute for Meteorology, Germany

Mark Rounsevell, AIMES co-chair
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
University of Edinburgh, UK

Lisa Alexander
University of New South Wales, Australia

Govindasamy Bala
Indian Institute of Science, India

Zhangang Han
Beijing Normal University, China

David Lapola
University of Campinas, Brazil

Natasha MacBean
Indiana University, USA

Brian O’Neill
University of Denver, USA

Patricia Pinho
University of São Paulo, Brazil 

Julia Pongratz
Munich University, Germany

Alex Ruane
NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies, USA

The International Project Office (IPO) serves as the secretariat for AIMES and administers the project on a day-to-day basis. The AIMES IPO is based at the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies.

Hannah Liddy, AIMES Executive Officer
Columbia University, USA


Past SSC Members


Sander van der Leeuw (ex-officio)
Arizona State University, USA


NameCountryInstituteRoleYears Active
Ayako Abe-OuchiJapanUniversity of TokyoCo-Chair2005-2006
Almut ArnethGermanyKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyMember2013-2018
Laurent BoppFranceLaboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement (LSCE)Co-Chair2005-2006
Duarte CostaUKUniversity of ExeterExecutive Officer 2014-2017
Robert CostanzaAustraliaAustralian National UniversityMember2005-2010
Peter CoxUKUniversity of ExeterCo-Chair2009-2017
Carole CrumleyUSAUniversity of North CarolinaMember2005-2011
James EdmondsUSAPacific Northwest National LaboratoryMember2010-2016
John FinniganAustraliaCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)Member2008-2009
Janet FranklinUSAUniversity of California, RiversideMember2011-2013
Pierre FriedlingsteinFranceUniversity of ExeterMember2005-2011
Congbin FuChinaChinese Academy of SciencesMember2005-2010
Gilberto GallopinArgentinaEconomic Commission for Latin America and the CaribbeanMember2013-2018
Claire GranierFranceLaboratoire Atmosphères, Milieux, Observations Spatiales (LATMOS)Member2005-2010
Kathy HibbardUSAPacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)Executive Officer/Member2005-2017
Suzi KerrNew ZealandMotuMember2005-2010
Tim LentonUKUniversity of ExeterMember2013-2018
Natalie MahowaldUSACornell UniversityMember2005-2010
Luiz MartinelliBrazilUniversity of São PauloMember2005-2011
Denise MauzerallUSAPrinceton UniversityMember2005-2010
Colin PrenticeUKImperial College LondonCo-Chair2005-2010
James RandersonUSAUniversity of California, IrvineMember2014-2017
John RavenUKUniversity of DundeeMember2008-2009
Mark RounsevellGermanyKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyMember2013-2018
David SchimelUSAJet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of TechnologyCo-Chair2005-2012
Marko ScholzeSwedenLund UniversityMember2013-2018
Anond SnidvongsThailandChulalongkorn UniversityMember2005-2010
Hirata TakafumiJapanUniversity of TokyoMember2014-2017
Kiyoshi TakahashiJapanNational Institute for Environmental Studies Member2013-2018
Hebe VessuriMexicoVenezuelan Institute of Scientific ResearchMember2014-2017
Matthew WilliamsUKUniversity of EdinburghMember2005-2011
Yasuhiro YamanakaJapanHokkaido UniversityMember2008-2009